Wilder by Far and wild logo

Arzhang's Family South Africa Safari

Penguins, Table Mountain Hiking, Lions, Elephants & Ocean Swimming

Arzhang

Arzhang

Traveller
Published on

05 Aug 2019

Updated on

17 Mar 2021

Table Mountain Arzhang

Arzhang booked a 2 week family safari to South Africa with Far & Wild Travel in February 2019 for the school summer holiday. British summer means South African winter, but this turned out to be a fantastic time to travel for this active family of 5, with 3 kids aged 16, 13 and 10. They began their stay at More Quarters in Cape Town, before self-driving in the KwaZulu Natal Eastern region of South Africa, staying at Ghost Mountain Inn, having a full blown private game reserve safari at Amakhosi Lodge and ending on the beach at Lalaria Lodge. The highlight of the trip was undoubtedly the Amakhosi safari, though each day offered so much variety.

To find out more about planning a family safari holiday, take a look at our favourite family safari ideas and planning tips.

We got a lot out of it...

The kids, and us adults, got a lot out of it. It was a brilliant trip.

If anything, we may have put on weight because the food portions were huge and it was so good! Aside from the wildlife, location, service and expert guiding at Amakhosi, we loved the cultural walk at Ghost Mountain Inn where we walked to a cliff edge and learned of the history of Zulu culture and lifestyle.

Boulder Beach Arzhang
Boulder Beach Family Photo

It was exhilarating, surrounded by elephants...

The video below shows just how close Arzhang got to a herd of female and young elephants, filmed from his phone!

We were going in search of a leopard and knew that there was a possibility we might see elephants and could hear them crushing through the forest.

Then suddenly two elephants crossed the path, so our guide slammed on the breaks and he did a massive loop to get in a position where he and the excellent tracker at the front of the vehicle knew the elephants would then walk towards us, essentially surrounding us.

Both my sons were petrified that it might go wrong, but we were told to just stay quiet and it will be OK. Sure enough, afterwards they said it was BRILLIANT, exhilarating and our hearts were in our mouths!

We didn’t end up seeing a leopard, but our guide Rowan posted a photo of one on Instagram he tracked just 2 days later!


Our guided hike up table mountain was another true highlight...

Right at the start of our time in South Africa we hiked Table Mountain. Our guide Kathy was excellent and she took a picnic of snacks and drinks up for us to enjoy too. It took us just over 4 hours to walk up and about 5 mins to get down in the cable car! We started very early in the morning. Charlotte has a fear of heights, but there was only one place that she needed some encouragement, it was very accessible.

The sky was crystal clear, we had beautiful sunshine, pleasant temperatures and since it had rained a lot the day before, lots of waterfalls made it even more fantastic
Table Mountain Waterfalls
Table Mountain Waterfalls
Table Mountain Collage
Table Mountain Collage
Arzhang Family Safaris
Family Safari Drives

Wondering when to visit? Take a look at this guide on the best time to visit South Africa.

Looking for some more inspiration? Take a look at our best safari holidays ideas, our favourite family safaris, our big five safari guide or our top African safari honeymoon suggestions.

If you'd like help planning a South Africa safari, call our friendly team on 01768 603 715.

Speak To Our South Africa Experts Today

Plan you dream holiday.

  • Ali

    Ali

    South Africa Specialist

Call an expert on

01768 603 715

Far & Wild Customer Reviews

See what our customers have to day about us...
Read all reviews

I've already recommended Far and Wild to a couple of friends

Paula travelled to South Africa in December 2023 on a trip organised by Alistair.

A dream to visit Mum's birth place!

Christine travelled to St Helena Holidays and South Africa in December 2023 on a trip organised by .

100% value for money

Adam travelled to Kenya in January 2024 on a trip organised by Ruth.

I didn't realise my high expectations could be so easily exceeded

Hannah and Elaine travelled to Kenya in November 2023 on a trip organised by .

Adventure of a Lifetime in Kenya

Maria travelled to Masai Mara Safari in October 2023 on a trip organised by Ben.

It was SO NICE to have someone else do it for me.

Cathy travelled to Tanzania and Zanzibar in December 2023 on a trip organised by Alistair.

Plan with an expert Plan with an expert

Have a look at our original holiday experiences and then contact us with your brief, or call 01768 603 715

A tailor-made itinerary just for you A tailor-made itinerary just for you

Our experts will send you a detailed holiday itinerary specified to your desires. It's our service promise to you.

Value guarantee Value guarantee

Tailor-made doesn't mean expensive! Ask about our price promise and book with financial security.